Blogs    Product news, events and behind-the-scenes info from the global leader in GPS.

Share on Tumblr

Garmin Connect: Changing privacy settings

16 June 2010 @ 5:22 PM  / Ask Garmin / Garmin Connect / Sports / Fitness Blog /


Default privacy-public Garmin Connect gives you options when it comes to activities you upload and whether they’re open for public viewing or your eyes only.

Currently, when you create your Garmin Connect account, the default setting for activity uploads is public. That means you’re able to share links to your activities with anyone (even if they’re not a Garmin Connect subscriber) and your activities show up in searches when someone uses the Garmin Connect Explore feature to search by keyword.


Default privacy-private If you don’t want your Garmin Connect activities viewed publicly, here's how to change your default privacy setting to “private”:
1. Click the Settings link located in the upper right-hand corner of the screen (next to Help and Sign Out).
2. Select Default Privacy
3. Select Private.
This change will only affect future activity uploads. Once an activity is marked as private, you won’t be able to share it with others unless you change it back to public on that activity.


Quick edit To change past activities to private:
1. Choose the Activities tab at the top of the page.
2. Locate the activity or activities you would like to change.
3. Choose Quick Edit at the top of the page
4. Click on the open padlock next to the activities you would like to be private.
5. When the padlock is closed, your activity is now private.
6. Once complete, choose Finish at the top of the page.


News, as it happens, in your inbox.

powered by Google